About Us

Based on the idea that fiction is an international movement supported by local communities Joyland is a literary magazine that selects stories regionally. Our editors work with authors connected to locales across North America, including New York, Los Angeles, and Toronto as well as places underrepresented in cultural media. 

In our first five years we’ve featured work from National Book Critics Circle winner Jonathan Lethem, Pulitzer finalist Lydia Millet, PEN/Faulkner finalist Amelia Gray, Giller Prize shortlisted author Marina Endicott and Giller winner Lynn Coady, Plimpton Prize winner Ottessa Moshfegh, Guggenheim Fellows Lynne Tillman and Terese Svoboda, Lambda Award winner Zoe Whittall, and Believer Book Award winners Tamara Faith Berger and Sesshu Foster. Our editors have included Steinbeck Fellows Kara Levy and Charles McLeod. Several of our stories have been included as Notables in Best American Short Stories and published in the Journey Prize Anthology. We've also been the first publisher of many amazing, emerging writers. 

New content appears weekly and we go into print twice yearly with Retro.  Joyland was created by Emily Schultz and Brian Joseph Davis in 2008 and the current site was designed and developed by Ross Merriam. 


Publishers Brian Joseph Davis, Emily Schultz

Senior Editors Lisa Locascio (Los Angeles) Kevin Chong (Vancouver) Brian Joseph Davis (New York) Kara Levy (San Francisco) David McGimpsey (Montreal & Atlantic) Kathryn Mockler (Toronto) Anna Prushinskaya (Midwest) Emily Schultz (New York)

Web Developer Ross Merriam

Editors Emeriti Emily Keeler, Matthew Timmons, Levi Stahl, Benjamin Wood, Casey McKinney, Edward Gauvin, Wyatt Williams, Janine Armin, Faye Guenther, Charles McLeod.


For general queries about Joyland: Brian Joseph Davis joylandfiction@gmail.com


Joyland is a partner with the Litbreaker ad network. Please see their site for rates and how to advertise on Joyland, or talk to us and we'll walk you through it.


Joyland is supported by sales of our print journal Retro, as well as international grants and our "Joyland Citizen" donors.



Steve De Jarnatt

​Emily St. John Mandel

David Goodman

Amy Mitchell

​Tom Paine

Anna Parkman

Kam Rao



Creative Commons License
All work on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.